2016: i.e. The Year I Go Broke

“There and Back Again” a Tale by Biblo Baggins.
HI, I’m back, to talk to you about the already awesome year of 2016.
“Why is it awesome, Cat?” BECAUSE OF THE BOOKS! Book the books that will be continuing, books that will be finishing, and books that will begin.
So I did make a post about 2016 books, but those were all new books, some of which will make a return appearance on this post.
Basically: 2016 is just a year of great books. A lot of years have great books. But I am both very excited with the new books and the new authors. New shiny, squeaky authors who will be joining us.
So without further ado, let us begin.

TRUTHWITCH by Susan Dennard: 1-5-16
Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)
I honestly talk about Truthwitch so damn much that if you don’t know what it’s about please get off my blog.
This is a GREAT way to start off 2016, with TRUTHWITCH the first in the Witchlanders series, which will consist of FOUR beautiful novels, the second which already has a name: WINDWITCH!
I devote my life to this series, and it already has a fandom. And a street team, which I am ALL too proud to be a part of, as of current.

RIDERS by Veronica Rossi: 2-16-16
Riders
ANOTHER one I am oober excited for, especially after reading the description and learning the main character is one of the Horsemen of the Apocalypse. How. Cool. Is. That? I love the idea of that, and the end of the world yadayada, like this sounds like some good stuff right here.

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Struskie: 2-8-16
The Abyss Surrounds Us
That cover is so colorful I want it framed and hung on my wall. About a girl raised to train sea creatures, and is captured by pirates, also know as, please just take MY MONEY, I have no need for it when this book will be in the world.

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig: 2.16.16
The Girl from Everywhere
I just noticed the eyes in the cover. I am not the sharpest tool in the shed.
There are those other time travel novels coming out in 2016 AND THEN THERE IS THIS BRAIN CHILD OF HEIDI’S! I don’t know why I like it more than the others, maybe it’s because I sometimes talk to Heidi and she’s cool OR I REALLY LIKE THE SOUND OF THIS ONE BETTER THAN THE OTHERS, either way I’m buying it the second it hits the shelves.
No don’t even put it on the shelves, just hand it to me.

THE CROWN’S GAME by Evelyn Skye: 2016
It has no cover yet! Which is good because then I’d just want it a thousand times more than I do, because WHO ACTUALLY APPROACHES THE TOPIC OF RUSSIA AND CALL IT RUSSIA?! Evelyn does. Do I love me some history? Yes, I do. Do I love it more when it isn’t American or Western European? YES I DO!

BEYOND THE RED by Ava Jae: 3.?.2016
Beyond the Red
When I look at this cover I hear a choir of angels, singing because I will go broke, buying this book for me and all of my family and friends. BECAUSE HELL YES I’m ready for this book, you don’t even know. I might even try to request an ARC for this book, I despise requesting ARCs, because I believe publishing companies laugh at me, especially when it comes to my stats, THIS BOOK JUST LOOKS SO GOOD and March 2016 is so far away 😥
ALIEN QUEENS AND HALF BLOOD SOLDIERS NEED I SAY MORE?

INTO THE DIM by Janet B. Taylor: 3.1.16
Into the Dim
There is a weird, twirly sign in the ‘O’ that makes this cover 10x more appealing. Time Traveler with crippling phobias, but who is also oober smart. I like it.

EVER THE HUNTED by Erin Summerill: 2016
There is no cover for this one. This is the daughter of a bounty hunter who has to find his killer. Other than that and it’s possibly a duology is all we know.
Why is it on this list? Because it sounds epic. Those two sentences sound. EPIC.

TIMEKEEPER by Tara Sim: 2016
This also has no cover which also hurts me dearly. However according to Goodreads it has three more books and I would like to know if I can just pay Tara or the publishing in advanced for all three, because I know in this very moment, I will buy ALL OF THEM.
IT’S A WORLD RUN BY CLOCKS. That is awesome. That is great. Please do not argue with me.

THE STAR TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi: 2016
This also DOES NOT HAVE A COVER why, why, why?
I long for this so, like they had me at Persephone-Hades retelling with Indian Mythology, like please, please, please, take my money, I want this book so badly, like… Indian Mythology? INDIAN MYTHOLOGY?
I may or may not have tear of happiness in my eye.

BLACKHEARTS by Nicole Castroman: 2.9.16
Blackhearts
And here we have a sort of retelling? About Blackbeard and possibly his girlfriend. It’s pirates, A pirate love story. I have a feeling it will hurt really badly so, please send tissues to the “Kit Cat’s Feels” fund.

IVORY AND BONE by Julie Eshbaugh: 2016
Another no cover. An Ice Age story, around three kids, fighting for survival, sounds like it has two strong female characters, and it’s during the ice age, which might mean Woolly Mammoths. If it does, my life will have been completed.

BURNING GLASS by Kathryn Purdie: 3.1.16
Burning Glass
This is the last Auroraseerer, who has to chose between two brothers, which sounds simple, but one is the king and one is the prince, so actually, no it’s not, and she has to keep the king alive, do you know how freaking hard that’d be, especially if you’re hardly trained?
“Kit, did you request an ARC of this” no…. Look it’s just so FAT AND BEAUTIFUL, FIGHT ME. I’m really passionate about my books, ESPECIALLY 2016 books, they have a special place in my heart.

ASSASSIN’S HEART by Sarah Ahier: 2.2.16
Assassin's Heart
Kind of like Romeo and Juliet, only if they were all assassins and Romeo’s family murdered Juliet’s family, so like Romeo and Juliet, but more murderous and awesome and, I only have $8 in my wallet is that enough to buy this with 😀 please…. Give… Me.

FEAR OF DROWNING DEEP by Sarah Glenn Marsh: 9.?.2016
Fear the Drowning Deep
GUESS WHO I GET TO MEET SUNDAY! SARAH! ^^^ THIS ONE!
People are happily drowning themselves and there are witches. *cough* Have I struck your interest? Good 🙂

THE MUSE OF NIGHTMARES by Laini Taylor: 2016
There was a war, between gods and men. Men won. The Gods’ children are hiding. Soon the humans will find them and end them. That day is here.
Why is this only supposed to be one book Laini? WHY?

THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows: 4.5.16
The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2)
Guess who I’m meeting on Sunday? Guess who is bringing an ARC of The Mirror King for petting purposes?
Hey, hey, hey…. Did you read The Orphan Queen? You did?
THEN YOU KNOW WHY I WANT THIS BLASTED THING!

GLASS SWORD by Victoria Aveyard: 2.9.16
Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)
I’m still not entirely sure what happened….. It sounds like Mare is going to turn evil. Victoria watches Game of Thrones. Do you understand where I’m going with this?
448 pages in this book according to Goodreads.
Everyone will die.

LADY MIDNIGHT by Cassie Clare: 3.8.16
Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)
A continuation of The Shadowhunter Chronicles. Follows Emma and Jules from City of Heavenly Fire. Probably will have Jem. The book has  786 pages.
I am ready.

THE RAVEN KING by Maggie Stiefvater: 2.23.16
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
GANSEY WILL LIVE
HE AND BLUE WILL FALL IN LOVE
RONAN AND ADAM WILL FALL IN LOVE
EVERYTHING IS FINE NOTHING IS ON FIRE.

THRONE OF GLASS #5 by Sarah J. Maas: 2016
Because I don’t actually need money, what I need is more of Aelin, Rowan, and Dorian, Ansel to come back AND FOR EVERYTHING TO BE OKAY.

SNOW LIKE ASHES #3 by Sara Raasch: 2016
Guys, I read book two… You don’t understand… You just… Don’t…. You know how number one was really sweet and innocent?
Number 2 turned into Game of Thrones.
Number 3 will be fucking blood bath.
What the actual….

SIX OF CROWS #2 by Leigh Bardugo: 2016
I haven’t read number one yet but Kaz and Inej are hot and I’m assuming I’ll like it SO I’M READY FOR NUMBER 2! Also since it’s SIX of Crows, I think that calls for Six books, just saying….
Basically I want Leigh to write more books.

AN EMBER IN THE ASHES 2 by Sabaa Tahir: 2016
CAN YOU BELIEVE THEY WEREN’T GOING TO AUTHORIZE BOOK TWO WHAT THE HELL?
I loved book one, I’m gonna freaking love book 2. Or be more concerned about what’s going on in Sabaa’s head, it goes either way.

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES #2 by Sarah J. Maas: 2016
I swear to god if she does what Raasch did in Ice Like Fire…. I’ll still buy book three buy I’ll be really, really pissed.
That ended innocently. I’m expecting, betrayal, heartbreak, and a lot of freaking murder.
But also hot guys, a some *wink* hot moments 😀

Okay. So that was a mere summary of why I’m going to go broke in 2016. “A mere summary, Kit?” Yes, just a summary, because I chopped half the other books off this list 😀
There are so many more I just did add, my Goodreads is OVER FLOWING with books, and more will be added.
I’m even adding 2017 books 😀 Oh YEAH!

Peace and Blessings,

-Kit Cat

4 thoughts on “2016: i.e. The Year I Go Broke

  1. 2016 looks fantastic, I am a lover of fantasy and it tickles me pink to see how many fantasy releases there are!

    Like

Leave a Reply

