Mental Health

Friends, the first thing I want you all to know is that I have written this so many times to try and tone it down, use less words, make it flow better, and sound nice for you all.
Hopefully it works.

Secondly this is going to get personal.

Recently it has become increasingly hard for me to ignore some of the more awful aspects of high school. There’s a word, though I cannot remember it at the moment, for when bad or unusual events/things happen, they make more of an impression, which is why it’s easier to recall and stays in your memory more vividly.

However I must go to high school everyday, and when you see certain things, certain patterns on an almost daily basis, it really is hard to ignore.

The thing that just keep hitting me in the face is how much harm a school system can do to a person.

Which is weird, since it was set up to educate and help younglings.

But between single-minded and careless teachers, an impossible workload, social stress, waking up early…. High School can be the demise of many.

And if you are sitting there thinking to yourself that I’m exaggerating, I can tell you I’ve seen what the stress of school can do first hand, and honestly, I’m really glad the effects were not permanent.

Mental Health is so overlooked.

I know this is a book community, and I at least advertise that this blog is a book one, but this is something close to me.

So many late night, mile long texts and eternal calls.

So much sadness engraved into people’s brains.

So much stress and pressure from things that shouldn’t even be causing stress or pressure.

So if you’re doing something and it suddenly becomes a lot, take a step back. Just stop for a minute or two.

If you need to take a day off school, do it.

If you need to just put down your work leave.

Here’s a fun fact about myself: I have a lot of meltdowns and they’re always in school.
It’s really embarrassing.
So if you’re like me, and you feel something coming on, just ask to leave.To get out, say you feel sick or anything.

Really, please just think about your mental health.

It is so important.

I can’t stress it enough…. It’s something people pass off so easily, and yet it’s the illnesses of the mind that seem to kill off so many.

Be careful.

Goodnight,

-Kit Cat

9 thoughts on “Mental Health

  1. You are absolutely correct in that mental illness is a serious disease. You are also right in that high school can be very difficult, downright traumatising. It is good to hear that you have been putting things into perspective. I sincerely hope that you are getting some help with your particular issues.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for putting that out there Kit.
    Especially after our convo on Twitter, it helps to know that some people out there experience the same thing and have gotten through it. This year has been tough for me school-wise, people-wise, and health-wise, but thanks to people like you who leave these encouraging messages, I’ve managed to overcome some hardships. Not all. But most.
    Wishing you the best of luck this school year and to take your own advice if needed.

    Like

    • Ha, yeah, I really do need to start taking my own advice. School is just ew, and I am really hoping that hurricane hits my area and shuts down schools.
      Good luck love, and I’m always here if you need to talk, or just loose it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such an important topic. I know so many high schools here that have such a high suicide rate, it’s horrible. There’s so many things that need to be worked on and changed I just don’t understand how things are just staying the same despite all of this.

    Hang in there, girly. I hated high school too but it’ll all be over soon and hopefully you’ll enjoy college.

    Like

    • Thank you love ❤ high school is evil, but everything will be okay I'm sure. You stay strong too, you're too amazing to not be with us ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

