Inspirational Authors

In this dark time of NaNoWriMo, I am finally hitting a Road Block with my story. As I said before, I know where this will end, but I’m having a lot of trouble getting there.

And it is times like these I look at my book shelves and think of the authors I met, and think “If they can do it, so can I!”

And right now I would like to share with you come of the authors that are inspiring me to move forth and keep trekking with this pathetic lump of a story.
They inspire me to make it a better story.

  1. Jodi Meadows, author of the Incarnate Trilogy and The Orphan Queen duology, and one of three authors who wrote My Lady Jane.
    Jodi is amazingly supportive, whenever she is you can hear her listening to people talk about their own stories or her showing people all of her rejected ideas.
    Not to mention she is one of the best author people I know.
  2. Susan Dennard, author of The Something Strange and Deadly trilogy and the Witchlanders series, she also writer The Starkiller Cycle with SJM.
    One magical thing about Sooz is she is willing to talk about anything. In her newsletter that she send out periodically, she has a section for “Daydreamers” where she just gives a whole host of advice to aspiring authors.
    And it helps when I see how amazing Truthwitch is and how hard she works on the Witchlanders.
  3. Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl From Everywhere. I don’t know what people think when I rave about The Girl From Everywhere, but I honest to god thought it was the most phenominal book I have ever read, and is probably my top book of 2016 so far (even beating out Glass Sword).
    I cannot wait to reread it when it is in my hands again.
    However the writing in that book, the amazing story and all of the emotions I felt, my love for the characters, it gives me something to aspire to. On top of that the diversity of that book was top notch.
  4. Sara Raasch author of Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire. I want to cause THAT MUCH PAIN.
  5. Victoria Aveyard, author of Red Queen and Glass Sword. Again, I aspire to the levels of suffering those books invoke.
  6. Sarah J. Maas author of the Throne of Glass series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and The Starkiller Cycle with Sooz.. Sarah’s world is beautifully rich, on top of her having a variety of characters to chose from and decide who you love. I want my world to be that rich, have that much going on. I want my story to be complex and beautiful and intoxicating like that.
  7. Laini Taylor author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy and Muse of Nightmares. Laini’s books were… I guess I saw them as dark in a way, and I adored it. It was enticing and all I wanted to do was have more, more, more, and just a lot more of whatever I read. I loved the world and the concept. The characters and how they were and acted, there was something AMAZING about it, in my opinion. Not my favorite trilogy ending, but still, amazing trilogy.
  8. Michelle Hodkin author of the Mara Dyer trilogy and The Shaw Confessions. Another series as I saw as dark and twisted and I loved every bit of it. I strive for that darkness. It is beautiful.
    A Darkness Strange and Lovely, truly.
  9. Roshani Chokshi author of The Star Touched Queen and The Vishakanya’s Choice. While right now all I’ve read is The Vishakanya’s Choice, I want nothing more to get my hands on The Star Touched Queen. Because in about 20 pages of that story did more than most novels can do. Roshani has a way with words I aspire too.
    To be that elegant with my writing, to thread words together like they are a song? Sign me up for that please.
  10. S. Usher Evans author of the Razia Series, Empath, and the Madion War Series. Evans is simply amazing because if you’re amazing enough to follow her on twitter you 1. are following the most supportive person on the planet, and 2. following one of the most hard working authors I follow. Always working on books, always bettering herself, she is just more amazing and totally underrated for how amazing she is.

So there are ten of the most inspirational authors I follow.
Now. There are a lot more. Oh trust me, if you’ve published a book, you have my respect. If you’re book sits on my shelf I aspire to be you.
But these are ten authors who have really, REALLY, inspired me.

And I thank them for it a lot, mentally and on Twitter.

Okay now back to the retched NaNo-ing ❤

-Kit Cat

8 thoughts on “Inspirational Authors

  1. Now that I’m done crying about being in the company of these incredible people…

    Let’s talk writer’s block! Truthfully, what helps me is to step away. You’ve done SO MUCH in so little time, that sometimes the separation is needed to reset the sprockets and wickets in your head. When you go back to reread what you’ve done, you’ll find the nugget of inspiration that you need to move forward.

    And don’t be afraid to cut to move forward. But don’t trash it–you’ll probably end up using it again.

    I believe in you Kit Cat and I can’t wait to read your book when you get a million dollar advance and a twelve book publishing deal. 😉

    Like

  2. AHHH! Good luck with NaNo – you’re going to be amazing! ❤

    And so many great authors on here! I absolutely love Sara Raasch, Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas as well. Thanks for sharing and, as always, amazing post! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

