A Letter to Coffee

Dear Coffee,

Without you, I’d be a horrible person. Without you, I’d probably be in bed at this moment.

Coffee, you are there for me, no matter how late or how early, you keep me going for better or for worse.

You help me through hard times, through those, 7 AM math class horrors, with the teacher speaking in the third person, faking a stutter to try and get things stuck in our heads.

You help me stay awake when I *REALLY* need to get that homework done because it does the next day and I haven’t even started it yet.

On cold days, you warm me up, while I sit in my reading chair.

When I’m sad, you give me endless energy to help me cry for hours, ensuring that there will be no meltdown in school the next day.
You know how embarrassing that is for me.

Of coffee, you provide me with the energy to get up, write, read, go through life without punching anyone. You keep the headaches away, and you’re so hot that is someone is annoying you’ll jump on them and burn the flesh from their bones.

Coffee, I will never be able to thank you enough for everything you do for me.

The days without you are worse.

They’re dark and horrid, full of pounding in my head and rage beneath my skin.

Some day coffee, I will provide you with the thanks you truly deserve.

But for now, I will continue to sip you and watch that pathetic thing Virginians like to call a “Snow Fall” outside my window.

Thank you, coffee.

-Kit Cat

Leave a Reply

