Books I DNFed without Realizing

So, clearly, there was a time before I started blogging and this is going to slightly go back to that time.

Before I did this whole thing and even now, I have this obsession with finishing a book, so it’s pretty rare that I’ll just stop, cold turkey, in the middle of reading, but upon thinking about it, I’ve found some books that I just stopped.

And, even better, it wasn’t always that it was bad, it was just, I forgot about it.

I still have my bookmarks in some of these.

Okay, let’s go.


 

Number by Rachel Ward
Numbers (Numbers, #1)
This is one instance where I stopped because I was bored. I couldn’t get into it. It was slow. And while I saw where it was going, I think I just decided to stop.
My mom read it the whole way through, it sounds weird.
My copy is still around here some day, maybe I’ll try it again?


 

Sabriel by Garth Nix
Sabriel (Abhorsen, #1)
I didn’t hate this one, I was just confused by it. And I’d picked it up a while ago, I don’t remember when, but it was back when I still went to church, which I remember because I think I hid myself away and tried reading it.


 

Revenge of Seven by Pittacus Lore
The Revenge of Seven (Lorien Legacies, #5)
So, this is one of those fun times where I just completely forgot about it. Oh and John and Sarah were annoying the hell out of me, so I just kind of stopped.
I want to keep going, but also, so much shit went down in the last book, too much for John and Sarah to be whining their asses off, like screw your damn romances, there is an alien invasion, can you PLEASE get your shit together and focus on the bigger picture?

Okay, sorry. Hopefully, I can get past that, because, again, I love these books, I just hate them right now.


 

The First Battle by Erin Hunter
The First Battle (Warriors: Dawn of the Clans, #3)
Okay, so, unlike Revenge of Seven, I REALLY did NOT have any problems with this one, I literally just forgot about it. I started reading, got distracted, I think I put it out of sight (I’m an “out of sight, out of mind” girl) and since then have just… Not gone back to it.

I have the ENTIRE series and I do plan on finished it, at some point… I swear.


 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The Book Thief
Okay, so this one is kind of like Warriors, I just forgot, but I was also a mix of bored and confused. It was a little slow for me, also, it kept using first person pronouns but was following Liesel and I was really bothered by the fact that I didn’t know who was narrating the story.

I do now, but at the time, it really bugged me.


 

Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz

Just the series in general, because I don’t remember which one I stopped at. However, I read it for my sister (because she loved that series) and the idea of it sounded interesting, but I guess it was just boring to me?
Which is weird now that I think about it, because in my head there are small parallels to The Mortal Instruments, themes that bothered me in Blue Bloods that didn’t bother in TMI?
Maybe I’m just imagining it, but that’s what I remember.


 

Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Delirium (Delirium, #1)
I bought this one at my first YALLFest and I’m pretty sure I opened it, started reading, got bored and stopped. From what I remember it was a little like every other dystopian from the start and I just was uninterested.
Also, I met Lauren write after reading it, and it wasn’t that she wasn’t nice, it was just…. I didn’t get the same feeling with her as I had with Tahereh or Veronica Rossi….? Maybe that made me less interested?


 

Matched by Ally Condie
Matched (Matched, #1)
So, I started this one, got a decent ways in, and all it was, in my memory, was a love triangle. Nothing else. I was so bored.
I had just read The Hunger Games and Divergent, or it was around those times, and I like my dystopian with some badass action, huge revolution. Thus, I got halfway through Matched, nothing was happening any different, she knew something was wrong, but wasn’t really doing much about it, and no action, so I just stopped reading.

I think I hadn’t it off to someone else like “I’ll finish it later” and never have.


 

OKAY! Those are books that I DNFed and never realized it because I didn’t know that was a thing. I hope I have not offended anyone with my opinions of the books and because this was so long ago, I MAY try to go back and read some of them, but for certain ones, it’s unlikely.

Why put myself through that again when there are so many other books, old and new, that I still want to try/continue?

Well, that’s all for now!

Peace and Love,

-Kit Cat

One thought on “Books I DNFed without Realizing

Leave a Reply

