DNF Reviews

Let’s be real, you’re not going to love every book you read. It’s unrealistic. Even I, miss 4 or 5 stars nearly every damn time, knows I’m not going to love everything I read.
For example, the classic Catcher in the Rye. I had to read it for school and ended up Sparknoting/Cliffnoting it because I cared so little and wanted to strangle the kid.

You all know the feeling right? The feeling why you’re reading of “Holy moly, I cannot do this.” Whether it’s because the book is slow or you’re bored or you legitimately hate it, you just want to throw it against the wall… So many reasons.

And that feeling sucks, especially when you’re an avid reader, you want to like books. Who wants to read a book you don’t care for? It is torture.

That is why DNFing is so damn beautiful. You don’t have to do it, you don’t have to finish the book. Just take what you have and give it the review you think it deserves.

Now, I don’t like doing this. I don’t like not finishing a book. I want to give it the benefit of a doubt. Maybe it’ll get better at the end, something that will allow me to give it a higher rating? Maybe there’s some epic twist at the end and all of my suffering will have been worth it. But I like the author, how can I hate the book? Everyone else loved this book is there something wrong with me?

But for real, you guys, it is suffering. Chances are it isn’t going to get better and you’re just going to end up hating yourself for wasting your time reading a book that you don’t give two rat tails about.

Let’s be real, we all have TBR lists the size of freaking mountains. There are so many OTHER books out there that we want to read that it doesn’t make sense to read a book we don’t care about.

DNFing is a merciful thing. You’re suffering, the book is suffering, your TBR pile is suffering.

Move on. Read something you want to read. Someone else will love that book that you don’t.

Don’t make yourself suffer. Don’t make the book suffer.

Reading should be fun, when you don’t enjoy it why make the pain last?

So, how do you all feel about DNFing? Is it something you do often? How do you feela bout DNF reviews? 

Peace and love ❤

Kit

12 thoughts on “DNF Reviews

  1. A kid at work asked me if he could DNF a book the other day. It was a book that I’d raved about as being a favorite from last year, but he just wasn’t buying into it. I told him that he didn’t have to finish. Sometimes you just have to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s okay to write a review if you DNFd a book. It explains why one didn’t finish and what it was that put them off. I find that just as good as any other review. However, I don’t often DNF anything, I mostly tend to put books that annoy me on pause (and then sometimes … never pick them up again)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t really DNF books very often, but I think it’s totally okay! Forcing yourself to read books that you just don’t like isn’t worth your time. Everybody has different tastes, and my favorite book might be somebody else’s DNF. I LOVE this post :))

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I DNF books a LOT. I get a batch from the library, start 75% of them and then only finish 50% of the ones I started. That’s just my reading routine. And I know that’s really alien to a lot of people, and it does have it’s downsides (i.e. I start a book and I like it, but I put it aside and read other books instead and then oh, look, it’s time for it to be returned to the library). I’m ok writing reviews for books I’ve DNF as well. But when I read DNF reviews, I tend to take it with a grain of salt. Who knows, the story may make a 180° turn! I like to know exactly where and why you stopped.

    Like

  5. Honestly, I have no qualms with DNF’ing a book. Since I have started book blogging, it’s only been like four books. However, I’m currently going through a slump. I have ten eARCs to read too 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wholeheartedly agree with you, and as time has gone by, I’ve gradually come to appreciate the beauty of a DNF. I used to almost never DNF books and would push through, even if I was miserable–and it was making me hate reading! Now, I give a book 25% and if I still can’t stand it, I DNF it. I do NOT however post DNF reviews, because I just don’t think it’s fair to rate 100% of a book based on the 25% of it that I did read, if that makes sense. Awesome post! ❤

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

