Oh, they’re in love again.

Sometimes I wonder if people know there are other types of love. Sometimes, I wish I spoke a language that had different versions of love for different situations.

Because I don’t love my mom and my friend the same way and I don’t love either of them like I would love a romantic partner.

Or that’s how it is in my head.

Upon reading, I often feel that’s how it is and it is such a common element in books to have a love interest that I’ve begun expecting it and become a little uncomfortable when it there is no love interest.

Now, I’m not someone who… Focuses a lot on romantics. I know a lot of teenagers who do. Whether or not they mean to most of my peers are romantically involved with someone.

So, I can understand why that would make it into YA books.

It just gets me, though, you know? Don’t get me wrong, I love a good love story even if I can’t relate to it, but sometimes I wish romantic relationships were shown differently.

Or just love in general was shown a bit differently.

I’ve NEVER had a romantic partner. Unless you can’t the first grade in which I’m pretty sure I had two at the same time, but whatever.

I do LOVE just not like that. I LOVE my friends and my family and my pets.

Sometimes it simply feels like the only type of love that is portrayed as love is romantic, no platonic and family love and those are also types of love.

You can love and be loyal to more than just a partner, for real.

Anyways, those are just my thoughts.

I’d love to see more kickass friendship other than the ones that are just there because of convenience and the MC doesn’t actually give a shit about them.

Characters who love their families, not just a mom or dad or sibling, maybe more?

This could just be a product of how I was raised and who I am now, but it would be nice to see a little less romance and a little more kickass families and friendships.

I’m all for kickass friendships.

What are your thoughts on love in YA/books?

Peace and love,

-Kit Cat

One thought on “Oh, they’re in love again.

  1. YA does stress romantic love way more than any other type of love. Which is, as you said, understandable. However, it’s important that we are able to see parents, siblings, even cousins, aunts, uncles, and grandparents. Teenagers may spend a lot of time on romantic endeavors and/or thinking about romance, but most of us are not orphaned and friendless. Non-romantic relationships play a much bigger part in shaping who we are (in most cases, I think).
    I hate when books do include family members and close friends, but they’re flat and really don’t do much in the story. Real life is not like that. I come from a big family, and even though there are a lot of us, we all try and stay connected. I’ve met almost all of my cousins and I’m very close to a few of them. And my brothers and sisters are a huge part of my life! It’s hard to imagine life without them. All that’s to say, yes! we definitely need more friend and family love. Thank you for writing this, Cat!

    -Lish

    Like

Leave a Reply

