Mini-Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy

Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)Days of Blood & Starlight (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #2)Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #3)

I wish I had these additions of the books, but I have the ones with the masks on them, not that it matters…

So, yes, I loved this series and have very distinct memories of skipping out on dinner once to finish… Either Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Days of Blood and Starlight, because I loved it so much.

I believe I loved these for the same reason I loved Mara Dyer and that’s because it just seemed to wonderfully dark to me.

Also, like Mara Dyer and Throne of Glass, I read these because of the 2014 YALLFest.

Thinking back, 2014 YALLFest is basically the entire reason I’m doing any of this and like half the books I like.

This book was amazing. One of my favorite things about it was the world and how there wasn’t just one but more and how you could access them.

I loved that Karou was raised by monsters, but at the same time, very nice monsters, I also loved Karou’s life, at least at the beginning of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I adored that she lived in eastern Europe, that she went to an art school, loved her friend and her family, that she lived on her own, and drank at this weird, obscure coffee shop.

For all that I loved about this story, I was not an Akiva fan, not in the slightest. I think my favorite thing about him was his name.

And he’s pretty. But the path he goes on and everything that he does, it has alway bothered me. I mean *SPOILER* he basically leads to the destruction, genocide of an entire race just because of Karou in her past life and I don’t really see that as something romantic, that’s awful and stupid.

I liked him  a little bit better at the end of Dreams of Gods and Monsters, but not much more.

He’s essentially the reason Karou ends up having to put the Chimaera back together and I’m not a fan of that.

Oh, I cannot go without mention that Zuzana and Mik are absolutely, positively relationship goals and my absolute favorites.

For the love of gods, Zuzana freaking goes after Karou and Mik goes with her and they live with monsters and end up helping her put back together a world, who on earth would not want a friend so loyal.

Karou goes through some dark shit in the second book and Zuzana is there, man.

When Laini release the short story about those two I wanted to die of cuteness.

Anyways, that story is still weird and dark and urban fantasy and it has all these elements and factors I love like pain for wishes and monsters and “angels” and a gray line between good and bad (in my head at least) and I ADORE it.

Overall I give this trilogy 4 stars and cannot wait for Laini’s next book!

Peace and love,

-Kit Cat

One thought on “Mini-Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy

Leave a Reply

