Mini Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)The Titan's Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #3)The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #4)The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #5)

Oh, PJ series how I misjudged you…

When I first heard about this series I kind of ignored it. I wrote it off as being for children, which was quite hypocritical considering the only series I was really reading at the time was the Warrior Cat Series.

Then, I saw one of my dear friends reading it in middle school…. And I binged. I binged hardcore.

I binged up until I got to Riordan’s latest book in that sequence “Mark of Athena” (review of those books to come).

Holy moly, I loved these, you guys, I loved them so much.

Not to mention all the fun I had because I got to see Percy as this little nugget (around my own age in the first few books) and then grow into… Now Percy.

But for real, I always loved Percy’s snark and I loved Annabeth and I effing loved Grover man, I missed him so much in the next series, he was one of my favorites in this series.

There was also the range of characters that always got me. All the different demi-gods and I loved getting to know the gods in general. It was a fun way to learn about them… Although you do have to take things lightly, they are kids books, not historical facts.

But holy moly, one adventure after another and it all ended so well, even though that ending killed me.

I was talking to someone about how badly the Battle of Manhattan hurt and how people kept saying that the final fight in the Heroes of Olympus was so much worse, but there were more casualties in the Battle of Manhattan than in Heroes of Olympus.

Also, this series, in my memory, ends up getting a lot darker and WAY more intense.

Still looking for the rest of the books because I only have The Lightning Thief.

I also really want the new additions they’re so beautiful and I’d love to be able to flip through and reread my favorite parts. Lordy, those books were AMAZING!

I don’t remember much other than going through a huge fangirl period with them after finishing, Percy Jackson was my middle school life man.

Intro into reading in general right there, I just needed it to all go up.

Plus, I’m a HUGE mythology person, so I generally read what Riordan puts out, even if it is for kids.

I don’t care. I can be a kid.

Legally, I still am.

Overall I give it 4.5 stars!

Peace and Love!

-Kit Cat

One thought on “Mini Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Leave a Reply

