Meeting Authors

I figured I do this, since today I get to see the one and only Jodi Meadows again!

Recently, you all may have learned that meeting authors turns me into a puddle of mush.

They are my celebrities, meeting this is like the average joe meeting… Who’s a really famous not-author person? I don’t know, I can’t think of anyone right now.

You may remember that I go into GREAT detail prepping for it and would die if I somehow managed to screw it up.

Luckily for me, I’ve met Jodi… somewhere between three or five times, as of this afternoon? I can’t be sure. However, she does a lot in my state, thus, I see her a lot.

So, I can basically guarantee that a lot will have gone into my appearance and I’ll be calmly freaking out all day because I love Jodi and this is technically the first Launch Party I’ll ever be going to! YAY *swims away*.

(And later this month I’ll hopefully be seeing Maggie Stiefvater *more celebration*).

I figured I’d take a minute to talk more in depth about meeting an author, for those of you who have never done it, will soon, have but…

Actually, I’m just doing this because WWWEEEEE.

Meeting an author, especially one you love, is both fast and very slow.

When meeting and talking to them, it feels like an eternity. I feel like I’ve been standing there forever, awkwardly watching them sign my books. Once I leave, it felt too short and I wish I’d had more time to talk to them despite actually have having plenty of time and I was just too nervous to speak.

For example, upon meeting Susan Dennard, Sarah J. Maas, Alexandra Bracken (both freaking times), and probably more, I stood there awkwardly. Sometimes they’ll just talk because fans are so quiet, sometimes they’ll talk to you and try to coax it out of you, which is nice because I need some help.

Honestly, the only author in memory I haven’t had a problem talking to was Michelle Hodkin. When I met her, the words just followed out and it was very much like talking to an old friend.

I’ve also mentioned before that I do plan things to say but never say them. In the case of Sarah, I had nothing planned and then was thoroughly shocked by actually being recognized.

With both Susan and Alex I’d planned things and then the second I got up there it all left and I briefly died inside.

This has not changed, by the way. I still take the time while the authors talk to compose myself and still fail when I get up there to say what I want.Not to mention, I often say things incorrectly and then feel awful about it. For example, when I was meeting Victoria Schwab, I tried explaining why I wasn’t getting This Savage Song personalized and said “If I like it

Not to mention, I often say things incorrectly and then feel awful about it. For example, when I was meeting Victoria Schwab, I tried explaining why I wasn’t getting This Savage Song personalized and said “If I like it, I’ll pass it along.” other than, “When I’m done, I’m going to pass it along.”

Cue the minor heart attack.

Similarly, meeting authors or the build up to it always makes me nervous, when I’m nervous it get very hot and sticky and sweaty and red which leads to it being uncomfortable for everyone involved.

I AM NOT A COMPOSED PERSON AT ALL.

I would really love to give people advice on what to do if/when they meet authors or their favorite authors, but honestly, I can’t.

Seriously, I’m a giant, messy puddle.

LE could tell you about me meeting Susan Dennard, the lead-up, the duration, the aftermath, I was spamming her with messages.

I may have looked composed (I’ve heard I look normal while freaking out) but inside I’m a storm of chaos.

Time for me to be nosy: have any of you ever met your favorite authors? Any interesting stories to share? COMMENT THEM I BEG YOU!

I’ll probably be fine with Jodi, but I’ll definitely still go through my weird routine.

peace and love,

-Kit Cat

 

One thought on “Meeting Authors

  1. I get SO nervous talking to authors. I’m terrified I’m going to scare them with my fangirling, so it all stays inside. I went to see Victoria Schwab, Gwenda Bond, and Julie Kagawa in Lexington last month and they let the audience ask questions. My hand shot up of its own accord and Victoria actually called on ME. My question flew out of my head and I had to take a moment to realize that yes, V was talking to me. So I asked the first question that came to mind: What’s your favorite icecream flavor?

    Gwenda, Victoria, and Julie were SO nice and it was even more of a surprise when Gwenda, as she was signing my books, sounded so excited to meet ME when she said, “You’re KAELYN FROM TWITTER!” And then she proceeded to introduce me to Victoria and Julie.

    I was in an dreamlike daze for the rest of the signing and the two hour drive back home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

