Mini-Review: The Darkest Minds

The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)Never Fade (The Darkest Minds, #2)In The Afterlight (The Darkest Minds, #3)

This series has such beautiful covers and is so fucked up :’)

I’d never heard about this trilogy or looked at it until my friend bought it for me for a birthday, I think, and I’d now like to thank her for screwing up my life because that was one CRAZY emotional rollercoaster and I was definitely not prepared for THAT.

Hopefully, you all know what this about, but a brief summary: kids get really cool powers which scare adults into putting their own children into concentration camp-like places, where they’re split up by color and at one point there’s a genocide, which happens before the happenings of the book so it isn’t technically a spoiler, but it is.

This story follows Ruby at a first person point of view.

The first part of the first book is a little confusion, but don’t worry, it all makes sense after that.

THIS STORY, THOUGH!

The first book we get to know Chubs, Liam, and Zuzu (right?) who are other kids with abilities (who have a name that I cannot remember right now).

Chubs is a Green (very smart), Liam a Blue (telepathic), Zuzu and Yellow (electricity, lightning?), and Ruby an orange, who are all supposed to be dead (in that genocide thing I mentioned) but escapes because orange have power over the mind.

(Time to note there are also Reds, who had power over fire, they’re mostly dead too).

The first book follows this gang around while they try to survive and find a safe place for kids like themselves, which essentially goes to hell, leading to the events of book two, and of course, ultimately, book three.

This book is a dystopian and I LOVE it, once of the best dystopians I read of that era.

What I can say for this book is that is was very unique, in the situation and even what turns out to have been the cause of the virus that gives the kids these abilities was interesting and not quite what I was expecting.

Similarly, I loved all of the characters, especially those who come in during book two.

For the whole trilogy I can’t say the death toll is TOO high, but when Alex kills someone off she makes sure it hurts in the worst ways possible and leaves you feeling empty for about three days, so be prepared for that.

Honestly, with the entire premise of this book, these kids being in labor camps, freaking KIDS, you know it’s going to be sad, it isn’t happy, it’s a mental rollercoaster, especially because you;re in Ruby’s head and she lived in one of those camps.

That’s going to be traumatic.

Overall I give the series 4 stars.

Peace and love,

-Kit Cat

3 thoughts on “Mini-Review: The Darkest Minds

Leave a Reply

