Revamping My Rating System: A Confession of Sorts

By revamping it I mean my own. And it won’t change much.

I have this little habit of giving virtually everything I read a high rating. There is a reason to this and when I give this reason, know that I don’t mean to offended anybody.

When reading I put in a lot of effort to enjoy the book. I don’t spend time thinking about the things I briefly noticed I didn’t like, but a lot of time focusing on the things I did like even if there are less of those than there are of things I did like.

Books such as those, generally earn a three star or a four star rating from me.

From there, any book I generally enjoy gets a 5 star rating.

But, in my head, there is a HUGE difference in how I feel about books, one I want to try and start incorporating into my actual rating and reviews.

There are books that I read and after I read them I feel absolutely euphoric like I’m on top of the world, best books I’ve ever read, I love, love, love, love it. Like “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” or “Prince’s Gambit”. Those books were AMAZING.

While I hate lower ratings, I do think they’re necessary.

To be honest, I have a lot of trouble receiving criticism and I have a lot of trouble getting it and I’m hoping that if I get better at giving criticism (as long as it remains constructive) then I may become better at receiving it as well.

My, personal, revamping of my rating system will probably happen this summer when I start to read more series and such.

I’ll try to be more open, I guess, about the ratings I give.

As much as I love reading and I try to give everything a high rating to it feels “included” there have been a lot of times where I find myself looking back and going “shit, that is not the rating I really wanted to give that.” Or basically just realizing the book wasn’t as great as I initially thought it was.

As of right now, I’m trying to sketch out how I want this rating system to work for me, which brings me to a certain point: rating systems are people’s own.

There’s the classic 5-Star, which I try to abide by because I think it makes it simpler for some people.

There are times in which I wish it was on a larger scale so I had more wiggle room and didn’t have to restore to decimals to get my point across.

But, again, ratings mean different things for different people. They rate books in such a way that they can get their point across to whoever is reading that review. They rate in such a way that makes sense to them.

For me, it used to be, I really liked this book, five stars. But reading more and more, recently I’ve realized there is a difference between like and love and adoration, I feel different things with different books, putting them on a different level from other books.

Same goes with everyone else. A five star and one star have different meanings for different people.

People have ways of telling what a book is to them.

Usually, on Twitter, I see a lot of lower ratings or some people like me who constantly put out higher ratings.

But I was going through the other day and I saw a Tweet from Cait from Paper Fury (and a few others but hers just stuck out in my mind) talking about how AMAZING it was to read a five-star book.

That and a few other factors lead me to go “wow, I feel that, but I definitely haven’t felt that for most of the books I’ve rated five stars.”

Thus, me trying to revamp my rating system.

Out of Cat-ish curiosity, how do you rate books? 

Peace and love,

-Kit Cat

3 thoughts on “Revamping My Rating System: A Confession of Sorts

  1. In order to give a book five stars, I have to think it was absolutely amazing. It has to stick with me in some way or form. If there is anything I dislike about it, it must be very, very minor or I have no fear of bumping it down to 4 stars. It’s why I had only 2 5-star reads last year.

    As a whole, I take the Goodreads definitions pretty literally. If a book was okay, but not good, it’s 2 stars. If a book was good, but not great, it’s 3. And so on.

    Like

  2. I rate basically according to goodreads level. Although, naturally I’m a bit hard critic. I notice sentences/scenes and also flow, it’s the inner editor in me. I like paying attention to details so I’ve taken to jotting down notes in an app while reading. Once I finish the book I usually only have an overall opinion so I usually don’t remember the small things, hence notes.

    When I write the review finally I take selected points from my notes. In the end of the review I give an “overall” opinion to show how I felt after finishing and looking at the big picture.

    Like

  3. I totally understand you! I used to rate most books really high but lately I’ve been giving lower ratings because some books are more mediocre than others. Personally, I use the Goodreads system (‘didn’t like it’ – ‘it was amazing’), so most books end up getting a 3 or 4 star rating. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

