MiniReview: Grisha Trilogy

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3)

For some books, I was able to see the hype after falling into the Book Realm. I suddenly saw new things and I loved the book even more with people to talk about it with and fangirl.

I expected this to happen with the Grisha Trilogy. It didn’t. Sorry Brittany.

Grisha wasn’t a bad read overall. It was enjoyable. Made better by fanart I found by my then favorite artist and having met Leigh and seeing how amazing she was made the book more enjoyable.

But to be perfectly honest (don’t kill me), I didn’t see too much special about it.

Don’t get me wrong, they’re good books for sure. The characters were good, pretty nice premise, okay plot.

But it didn’t stand out to me. Like, it was a nice read to pass the time. I didn’t suffer while reading it or think “UGH maybe this one will be better.”

I genuinely wanted to know what happened. It just wasn’t pressing for me.

I felt like I was… Well, reading. It didn’t feel like I was there, the storyline never really hooked me in like I felt it should, the ideas and concepts were cool and interesting, but they were better in my mind than they were on the page.

Not to mention my favorite characters were all secondary and rarely came in. They weren’t even in the first book.

I won’t like, this pains me to say because I know how many people love it and I’ve met Leigh twice now and she’s just so cute and amazing and I want to like her books as much as I like her… But I don’t.

I’ve gone ahead and agreed to give Six of Crows a chance. I hear it’s different from the original Grisha story, though I’ve heard from some that it isn’t as good and considering I didn’t like the original much I wonder what that’ll mean for the duology.

So, rating wise, I did enjoy it and it wasn’t awful. For each individual book, I gave them three stars, so that will be my rating for the trilogy as a whole.

Peace and love and sorry,

-Kit Cat

3 thoughts on “MiniReview: Grisha Trilogy

  1. I haven’t read these books but I gave 4 stars to Six of Crows. I only got properly into it after one third of the story but it was pretty good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

