YA Animals

There is a disturbing lack of animals in YA or I feel that way.

Some of you may have noticed that I spend a lot of time talking about my dog, Katara. I also have a cat named Hunter.

Since Hunter lives outside he doesn’t shape my life as much as Katara does but nevertheless, I love them.

Like, my animals are everything to me. My beloved pets. I have nightmares about them dying and it is awful and I cry because I love my precious babies so much.

Since animals shape my life so much it makes me quite sad when I read a book and, behold, no beloved pet.

Now, there are perks to this.

  • The pet can’t die.
  • They won’t get in the way of whatever the protag is doing.
  • they can’t die.

The cons to this.

  • Who will the protag trust when they can’t trust anyone else?
  • No fun fluffy friend.
  • A sad life.

You may be able to tell I am a HUGE animal person.

Personally, I think there should be more pets in YA. So let’s talk pets.

First, you have animals that aren’t yet proven to be real and often seen in fantasy.

  • Dragons
  • Griffins
  • Phoenix
  • leviathan
  • Pegasus
  • unicorn
  • hydra
  • And so many more

Then there are animals which aren’t usually pets in real life but would make epic pets. If they didn’t kill you.

  • Wolves
    • Undyingly love them
  • Any sort of big cat
    • Tiger, panther, lion.
  • Fox
  • Eagle
  • Hawk
  • Bear
  • Penguin
  • Sugar glider
  • red panda
  • monkey
  • elephant

And finally, of course, there are animals which are commonly found in households or as pets but still rarely seem to find their way into YA.

  • dogs
  • cats
  • small, annoying birds
  • reptiles
    • SNAKES ❤
  • Horses
  • pigs
  • small rodents
    • Mice, rats, hamsters
  • FISH?
  • Turtles

LOOK AT ALL THOSE AMAZING ANIMALS?

Seriously, I just love animals. I can totally get why they aren’t in books as much, like I said above, and who really wants an animal unless it helps the plot.

But honestly, who wouldn’t want an animal?

Anyways, are there any animals you’d either love to have or wish inhabited more books? 

Peace and love,

-Kit Cat

Leave a Reply

