Annotations

HELLO!

Today is my LAST AP Exam!!! CELEBRATION!

No more until next year and there will be FAR less do to all of the stress I suffered this year.

Today is AP ENGLISH! More specific AP Composition! So AP Writing! But not the fun kind of writing. The boring kind which makes me want to through myself off a cliff. The kind that I don’t get and don’t think was ever fully explained to me.

A few times at the beginning of the course we would read and annotate books. The problem with this was that all of the books were boring so I failed to read and annotate most of them.

I know, I’m an awful student, but I couldn’t have cared less about the books we read. Maybe if I’d been reading them for fun but I most certainly was not.

HOWEVER when I read for pleasure I do have a habit of annotating my books.

I have RAINBOWS of sticky notes which go into the book marking my favorite parts, giving me references for when I go back and look later.

To be honest, I pride myself on all of the sticky notes my books have, especially when authors make note of it. That’s the best feeling in the WORLD.

When I went to the Sarah J. Maas signing she looked at the sticky note with the frowny face on it, it was the coolest/most embarrassing/coolest thing that ever happened to me.

Anyways, what are some perks of annotations?

  • Seriously helpful if you’re forgetful LIKE ME
  • They can help organize your thoughts
  • Give you evidence and examples
  • Best of the quotes
  • Best of the scenes
  • Can take you back to that epic part you forgot about
  • The best of your OTP
  • That moment you couldn’t believe happened
  • ALL OF THE GLORIOUSNESS RIGHT THERE BECAUSE YOU MADE NOT OF IT!

There are also different methods of annotating.

  • Sticky notes
  • Highlighters
  • Pens or pencils
  • A notebook
  • An online document

THE POSSIBILITIES ARE ENDLESS!!!

Seriously I LOVE marking up my books. Best decision of my life!

I am the BIGGEST airhead I have ever met and SO forgetful. Annotating my books really helps me out in that regard.

Of course, it isn’t for everyone, everyone is different, but if you haven’t tried it maybe give it a go sometime?

Personally, it is second nature for me to grabbed a sticky and put it in the book. I’d be lost and confused if I didn’t do it. It’s in my habits to smack around me looking for those pesky stickies to put in that spot that I just HAVE to mark, you know?

So, do any of you annotate? How and what do you mark most of?

Hopefully, by the time you all read this, I will be out of my test and safely hiding and crying away somewhere.

Either way WISH ME LUCK! I won’t know my scores until summer!

Peace and love,

-Kit Cat

2 thoughts on “Annotations

  1. Good luck! AP Lit killed me two years ago, but it was glorious once it was over. As for annotations, I do the opposite! I annotate books for classes so I can reference certain quotes in papers, but I just read without worrying about marking things with my books for pleasure. If I’m reading an ebook, I might highlight certain parts. If a quote really stands out to me, I’ll write it down in my notes app.

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Like

Leave a Reply

