A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)

(Picture taken from GoodReads link to the GoodReads info here)

 

When it comes to popular authors with highly anticipated sequels, it isn’t uncommon to see completely stellar reviews of those books.
People claiming that the author has truly outdone themselves and that it’s the author’s best work yet.
Rarely is that the case.

That was all I saw before reading A Court of Mist and Fury.
While I acquired it around the same time as most of the world I was unable to read it until summer due to school.

The hype surrounding it had me convinced that I would hate it but feel so pressured into liking it I’d feel the need to lie so I wouldn’t be the black sheep.
Luckily, that wasn’t the case.

I read A Court of Mist and Fury and I loved it.

Sarah J. Maas has actually outdone herself. I’ve decided this after almost two months of thinking about that book and mentally comparing it to her other works.

In  A Court of Mist and Fury, she wrote a beautiful, heart-wrenching sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, which cannot compare to the first or any of the Throne of Glass books in quality,

The characters in this book are amazing of themselves. Growth can be seen in both Feyre and Rhys.

Throughout the book you see their relationship grow into something beautiful, mature, and health, a relationship based in mutual love and respect for one another.
The character development in Feyre alone is something I could rave about for years.  Absolutely mind-blowing.
She goes from being abused, without confidence or control her life, from a life of denial to someone who accepts help and learns to love and take care of herself again.
And it’s so wonderfully done and empowering.

I could read it a thousand times and never get tired of seeing how she grows and learns and loves.

It was just so calming and helpful to see how willing others were willing to wait for Feyre to come to things on her own, how willing they were to work it out with her and help her through her issues. So calming and wonderful seeing her grow back into a strong, confident, powerful woman.

It was also interesting to see more of Rhys in this book than we got in the last. Seeing him develop from a single-minded pervert to the man of most girls’ dreams. To have him revealed as someone kind and caring and protective, in a way that, for once, doesn’t appear to be unhealthy.

Other characters, such as the Inner Circle, were also interesting and relatively fleshed out, though I do believe there’s room for them to grow. Especially, since this is our first time meeting them. Hopefully, they become more rounded out within the next book.

The story itself was beautifully written, focusing mostly on Feyre’s development and less on the upcoming war.
The balance of the two isn’t completely uneven, the war is heavily focused on, just not as much as Feyre’s growth. Anyways, I really did love Feyre’s growth, so it wasn’t bothersome at all.

The world was beautiful as ever though nothing too unique, reminding me of Sarah’s other world, though this is better written and more mature, and a bit of Snow Like Ashes’s world.

The twist at the end was absolutely gut wrenching to the put that I could hardly stand to keep reading and wanted to scream.

So, final thoughts:  the story was AMAZING, I truly believe this is Sarah’s best work (and, again, this is after thinking it over and comparing it for almost two months). This book left me with a massive book hangover and the feels were all too real.
However, I also believe she has room, a lot of room, to grow and for whatever reason, I felt like something was missing.

So, with that, my overall rating is 4.5 Stars.

-Kit Cat

2 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’ve just read the first book, and it sounds like this one is even better! I wasn’t a big fan of Feyre, so it’s good to hear she’s going to improve. And I am so ready to fall in love with Rhys, he seems amazing from the little I’ve seen of him

    Like

Leave a Reply

