Books On My Shelf That I Have And Need To Read, Now.

Hello, friends!

Week three of school has begun and I already want to drop out, just because of how tired I am. Ironically, this year isn’t even that bad, if I were to compare it to last year.

I’m only taking two AP classes, they seem laid back, I’ve had time to read my books, which I definitely didn’t last year.

So, I consider myself lucky in that regard.

I’ve been reading Empire of Storms since it came out and I’m slowly, but surely, making my way through it.

Hopefully, I’ll be done before the end of this month, and hopefully, this is only taking so long because that book is a monster.

But, after hitting the two hundred page mark, I looked at my bookshelves and thought “Empire of Storms is going to break me, I know that, so what am I going to read to rebound.”

By the time I finish, Crooked Kingdom should be out, but for now, I’ve compiled a list of books I want to read after Empire of Storms (and probably Crooked Kingdom by then, as well), that I already have.

I also made myself give reasons for wanting to read these books. After reading Empire of Storms and Crooked Kingdom, I know I’m going to have to WANT it.

Let’s begin.


 

  1. The Upside of Unrequited by Beck Alberalli
    The Upside of Unrequited

    1. I actually started this before I got Empire of Storms and put it to the side when I acquired EoS, but I am glad I started it before hand.
      Upside already seems like a fun and snarky read, plus it’s contemporary and I’m almost positive that I will need all of those things after finishing Empire of Storms and Crooked Kingdom.
    2. I’ve also heard AMAZING things about Becky’s work, which makes it top of the list.
  2. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
    The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)

    1. Another author who I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about. I have the ARC of this book, and the HB, and I’ve met Renee TWICE and I STILL have not dived into The Wrath and The Dawn. To add insult to injury, my WONDERFUL bookish RL friend ADORED this book (she’s the reason I saw Renee a second time) and insists that I have to read it.
    2. This friend rarely read fantasy and she also told me I’d love Six of Crows and I did. I trust her judgment.
  3. History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
    History Is All You Left Me

    1. My mom read this and said that I should probably be in a happy place to read this. Well, I’m in high school and spend 80% of my time being melancholy, so I think I’ll just go ahead and read it.
    2. I’ve heard Silvera’s works are amazing but it’s also Silvera himself who sells it well. He just seems so damn likable, I WANT to read his books because of how amazing he seems.
  4. The Girl At Midnight
    The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight, #1)

    1. Someone once came forward and compared this book to Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I don’t know who it was or if it’s true, but I loved that book.
    2. For some reason, other than the one listed above, this book has just always had a strange appeal to me. Whenever I rearrange my shelves it always makes its way closer to me.
    3. PS I organize my books so that the closer they are, the more interested I am in reading them or the more I like them.
  5. The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig
    The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2)

    1. I LOVED The Girl From Everywhere, by this point I think that’s common knowledge. The book was so wholesome and left me was such a feeling of content and the biggest smile on my face. It’s easy to deduct that I’m just as excited for The Ship Beyond Time.
  6. Zodiac by Romina Russell
    Zodiac (Zodiac, #1)

    1. This is like The Girl At Midnight, it always comes closer to me. I want to read it and just have never picked it up.
    2. Lately, I’ve been craving Sci-Fi and this is Sci-Fi-esk, so I’m REALLY looking forward to reading it. Plus, the premise seems really cool. I really, really, really like astrology and the astrology signs, so… Yeah…
  7. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
    Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

    1. I bought it when it came out and I actually have two copies of it but due to the formatting I’ve never actually read it. Though, since I am craving Sci-Fi so badly, I am planning on reading it soon.
    2. Also, after reading Nevernight, I really just wanted more of Jay’s writing and this is a way to get it.
  8. The Rose Society by Marie Lu
    The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2)

    1. I read The Young Elites as soon as it was released and LOVED IT! It is a wonder to me why I haven’t read The Rose Society yet? I mean, LOVED IT and I adore Marie’s writing, the Legend trilogy made me cry for crying out loud. This woman is a marvel.
  9. A Gathering of Shadows by Victoria Schwab
    A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2)

    1. I read the first one obviously, and it didn’t blow me out of the water but it was interesting, so I would like to continue.
    2. On a different note, I saw Victoria Schwab forever ago and thought she was the bee’s knees and the covers are really cool.
  10. Simon Vs. The Homo Sapien Agenda by Beck Albertalli
    Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

    1. I nearly got burned alive when people realized I hadn’t read this, so I traded for a copy and I read the first paragraph I think, and automatichally knew this book was going to be awesome.
    2. And help when I read too much SFF and almost die.

Some honorable mentions:

  1. Caravel
  2. Stalking Jack The Ripper
  3. The Continent
  4. The Love That Split The World
  5. Talon
  6. Iron Cast
  7. Court of Fives
  8. This Monstrous Thing
  9. Our Chemical Hearts
  10. Red Rising.

I hope you enjoyed.

Tell me, what are some books that you all really want to read?

Peace,

-Kit Cat.

Leave a Reply

