Review: Kings Rising by C. S. Pacat

Kings Rising (Captive Prince, #3)

Kings Rising by C.S. Pacat, image taken from GR

Link to the GR here, Review not influenced by any outside variable

 

Finally, the trilogy has come to an end and I honestly don’t know how I feel about it.

I started this trilogy back in the winter and I sped through Captive Prince and Prince’s Gambit.

Honestly, this was a wild ride from start to finish. Partially because I bought this book without reading the synopsis. I just saw authors I loved and admired reading it and decided it would be interesting to buy.

Thus, when the book arrived and I started reading it, I was relatively shocked at the content inside. Nevertheless, I did enjoy it, if mildly horrified at what I found.

So, to wrap up this long journey, I will say this about this books: they’re interesting.

They have an interesting world (yeah, I’m a world person, I’ve discovered), which builds throughout the entire trilogy. There’s a map at the front of the book and throughout the books, you slowly get to go across it which is pretty damn awesome.

The characters are… Them. They’re complex and frustrating and I just wanted them all to be happy and healthy. Honestly, reading those books I felt like a mom, who saw her one child putting his finger in a light socket, and, while stopping him, saw my other child climbing the cabinet. Meanwhile, they house is burning.

That level of stress. I still love them, don’t get me wrong, it’s just, in this book, there was never a sense of anything being okay with the characters. Not until the last page of this book, was I content with their wellbeing.

Much stress.

The length of the books are nice and short. I feel like C. S. Pacat gets to the point, she doesn’t lollygag or hang on any one detail for too long.

The plot of the story is almost always moving, especially in this one, there aren’t really any slow or unnecessary moments. They’re all fast paste or really beautiful or really sexy and definitely worth the wait.

Final thoughts: I’m really glad I read and put my time into this trilogy. It was well done. I would totally suggest it to a friend but it is definitely not for the faint of heart.

Overall rating for this book is 3.5 Stars.

-Kit Cat

One thought on “Review: Kings Rising by C. S. Pacat

Leave a Reply

