2017 Authors and Books

2017 is soon upon us (thank the gods) which means a SHIT TON of new books to look forward too!

I shall share some of the ones I look forward to the most with you!

There is really no rhyme or reason for any of these, I’m just psyched for them!

  1. Windwitch by Susan Dennard
    Windwitch (The Witchlands #2)

    1. Following Prince Merik and the stakes sound ever so high and Aeduan and Iseult OH MY ❤
  2. The Fallen Isles Book 1 by Jodi Meadows
    1. A girl imprisoned, illegal dragon trafficking, sounds wonderfully morbid and dark, and dragons.
  3. Nevernight Chronicles Book 2 by Jay Kristoff
    1. So, basically, if you read the ending of Nevernight, you understand this one. Assassins and great world building and holy shit, it’s just something you want.
  4. ACOTAR 3 by Sarah J. Maas
    1. ACOTAR was okay, ACOMAF literally has to be the best thing SJM has ever written ever, because between that book and Nevernight, I’m still feeling the feels. I can’t wait for book three!
  5. A Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig
    The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere, #2)

    1. I fucking loved The Girl From Everyone. A biracial MC, a likable male love interest, a time traveling ship… I can’t even describe how much I loved TGFE and how excited I am to read TSBT.
  6. A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi
    A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2)

    1. Roshani has one of the most beautiful writing styles my eyes have ever seen. Honestly, when I heard about A Crown of Wishes and who it’s following and that I would get to revisit the world of The Star Touched Queen, I flipped. This is a must.
  7. Dear Martin by Nic Stone
    1. First of all, Nic is amazing. Second of all, this book… I haven’t read it, but I can tell you I plan on it, not just because of the synopsis but because of the things I’ve heard. That this is a raw, emotional story following racial prejudice that does not shy away from tough topics. Damn fucking right I’m ready to read this.
  8. 27 Hours by Tristina Wright
    1. Where the fuck do I start with this one? This is a sci-fi book with a cast of queer teens. And POC characters. A sci-fi book with queer POC characters, featuring a war that has so much more going on than it seems and I’m also crying because I heard a rumor (HA Rumor, my love, I say not knowing this character), that there is a character of the asexual spectrum and HOLY SHIT I’M FLIPPING OUT SOMEONE GET THIS BOOK TO ME I NEED IT.
  9. Askari by Kristen Ciccarelli
    1. This one I found thanks to Rachel at A Perfection Called Books. Finding 2017 debuts has been challenging for me this year (I feel more picky) but I really liked the sound of this one. I like the idea of dragons and it already sounds like it has some mad worldbuilding going on.
  10. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
    Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)

    1. I understand a lot of people are looking forward to this one, but holy shit same.

 

And some honorable mentions

  1. Terra by A. C. Gaughen
  2. Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth
  3. Warcross by Marie Lu
  4. Strange the Dream by Leigh Bardugo

 

Tell me, friends, what are some of the 2017 books you’re looking forward to?

Peace, friends.

-Kit

One thought on “2017 Authors and Books

Leave a Reply

