Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5)

Link to the GR page here and this review was not affect by outside variables.

I will do my best to avoid spoilers, if I think anything may be too spoilery I’ll put a lot of *s and “spoilers” in all caps.

Throne of Glass number 5, one more book before this VERY long series comes to a close.

I, like many others, have been waiting for this book for over a year. While I recognize this book is fucking mayonnaise, I still do appreciate it.

So, after weeks of trudging through this and stressing over how long it was taking me to finish, I finished. Done.

And I did like it.

Honestly, five books and I think this story is coming along nicely. There hasn’t been too much in the way of world building since this book literally has, what, six books to the series (counting the novellas) so world-building isn’t as prominent as it was early on. Though, even early on there wasn’t much world building.

However, what we do see of it, I enjoy. There isn’t a lot but what is given is enough for me to picture the world I’m supposed to be on and appreciate it, as much as I can.

The characters, I have always been a fan of. I’m a sucker, so I dislike who I’m supposed to dislike and like who I’m supposed to like. Most of them aren’t too complicated (I’ll elaborate on that in a second) so I find it easy to just appreciate them for who they are.

***SPOILER?***

Character-wise, I was very sad that Chaol wasn’t in the books AT ALL?!

I know for most people, if you ship Aelin with Rowan, you don’t like Chaol and vise versa, but I ship Rowan with Aelin and still like Chaol. He is my sweet son, my loving and loyal Hufflepuff.

Don’t let the craziness of some fans scare you away from characters.

***END SPOILERY THINGS I THINK******

I was a big fan of how the character grew in this book. Especially Aelin, I love that even though there are five, six books, Aelin is still growing as a character.

Plus there was growth with Manon and Elide and Dorian, which I loved because all of those characters are my precious children.

There wasn’t much growth with Lysandra, Rowan, and Aedion which made me a little sad, I feel like, with nearly 700 pages, a lot more could have been done with them. I still appreciate their characters, there’s nothing wrong with them, Lysandra and Aedion had so much growth in Queen of Shadows, I was hoping that would expand.

As for my dear son, Rowan, who I love muchly, I really hope more is done with him in the next book. He was introduced in Heir of Fire and I feel like the most that’s been done with him is changing loyalties from Maeve to Aelin, and other than that he’s stayed the same. Maybe I’ll change my view with more analysis, but as for now, that’s how I feel.

Storywise, I was MUCH pleased. It’s been hinted at since Heir of Fire that more of Aelin’s past (the novellas and her childhood) would come to play in the later books. That began in Queen of Shadows and tied up nicely in Empire of Storms.

Like, by the end, I was literally crying because of how awesomely that all worked out for the story.

I’m honestly amazed that six books later, a shit ton of characters and storylines and all these secrets are weaving together so smoothly.

That ending killed me.

Honestly, I cannot wait for TOG6, I want to see how this all ends and I’m not going to lie, I’m legit hoping for a Happy Ever After for all of my protagonists because that is what I NEED.

Final thoughts: this was an amazing book, albeit VERY long.I don’t think it was Maas’s best work (that goes to A Court of Mist and Fury HANDS DOWN) but it was a good addition to the Throne of Glass series and I look forward to seeing where it will go from here!

Overall Rating: 3.5 stars. 

-Kit Cat

2 thoughts on “Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Definitely agree that ACOMAF is her best so far (LOVED IT). Rowan really has remained pretty static since he was introduced and Aedion and Lysandra felt flat to me in this book. Like, some of the characters could be SO MUCH MORE!

    Like

Leave a Reply

