Through The Years: Top 2010 Novels

Good day friends.

Here, on the bloggle and on Twitter, I like to keep current with books and focus on the upcoming, like the 2017 books (but since a lot of those have left me underwhelmed, I moved on to 2018).

However, now I’d like to go back.

I’m a relatively new blogger, my blog will turn 2 this next March, I believe, so I haven’t been doing it that long. This means that a majority of the reviewing I’ve been doing has been relatively recent.

Anyways, I want to go down my memory lane and look at books I read (or was interested in, looking at if I didn’t read many from that year) and reflect upon the awesome books of that year.

Please keep in mind that up until recently, my reading selection was very narrow…

Either way, I hope you enjoy!

 


Let us BEGIN!

  1. I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies Book 1) by Pittacus Lore
    I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies, #1)

    1. Apparently, this book came out in 2010, I don’t remember when I read it but I definitely did read it, you can see the loving wear to my copy. I read it before I saw the movie and LOVED it! So good, classic and quality sci-fi, easy to read.
    2. Okay, well Young Cat loved it, and I have fond memories of it.
  2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
    Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)

    1. I’m almost positive I didn’t read this when it came out.
    2. So, funny story, I was forced to read Hunger Games, or pressured to by EVERYONE IN MY LIFE PERIOD. And I wanted to watch the movie so my family and friends bullied me into reading it.
    3. I liked it, so they win.
    4. And, yes, I liked Mockingjay, even if I do wish Katniss had just gone back to District 12 without Peeta, to just live her life, working to get better and be happy without Peeta breathing down her next.
    5. I hated both of them.
  3. Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare
    Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

    1. Before I became aware that Clare isn’t the nicest author lady in the world or that all of her books are basically carbon copies of one another and it seems like she doesn’t even care.
    2. Before all that I LOVED these books and I am one of those people who prefer TID over TMI because let’s be real… It’s better.
    3. I adored Jem and Will’s parabatai-ship, definitely better than Jace and Alec’s (let’s be real) and Will, Jem, and Tessa were such a lively and unique bunch and in TMI, Simon, Izzy, Alec, and Magnus were awesome but the MCs, Jace and Clary, made me want to shove my head through a wall.
    4. Loved Clockwork Angel though!
  4. Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
    Crescendo (Hush, Hush, #2)

    1. Let’s talk about problematic, HA.
    2. But young Cat thought that this stuff was insanely normal, the stalker, controlling, alpha male boys, and shit.
    3. BUT YOUNG CAT ADORED THIS SERIES and she got all of her friends to read it and they all collectively swooned and I’m not going to lie, those were good times.
    4. I don’t remember much about this specific book, but the series overall I think was ok.
  5. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
    The Body Finder (The Body Finder, #1)

    1. Any original thoughts I had on this are drowned by my mom’s absolute annoyance at Violet’s constant stupidity.
    2. I read this before mom listened to it, then she listened to it and ranted, and I sat in a corner going, “I don’t know, I liked it, it was very unique” but in hindsight, Violet wasn’t the brightest..
  6. The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles #1) by Rick Riordan
    The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles, #1)

    1. So, at this point in my life, I think I was genuinely pleased with Rick Riordan’s books. I adored PJ and Heroes and this was just awesome, I loved that Rick did Egyptian mythology.
    2. I haven’t really picked up the rest of his work because I feel like it’s starting to take on a pattern.
    3. Then again, my friend told me something about Magnus Chase that caught my interest so maybe…
    4. Anyways, Kane Chronicles were great and unique and they’re own, special adventure.
  7. Voices of Dragons by Carrie Vaughn
    Voices of Dragons

    1. Okay, so I REALLY do not remember a lot about this book but I loved it.
    2. I still periodically check to see if she’s added on to this story because I just thought it was the coolest and TBH I really want to find it now and reread it.
    3. Seriously, it was GR8.
  8. Embrace by Jessica Shirvington
    Embrace (The Violet Eden Chapters, #1)

    1. All you have to do is read the synopsis of this book to know it’s going to be a cliche-ish book.
    2. But, holy shit. It is awesome.
    3. I still haven’t read the last two, but I remembering the ending of where I left off and I still want to fight someone it was so intense.
    4. Like, this book was actually pretty okay.
    5. And it left my heart and shambles, for a reason that I kind of want to talk to people about but I don’t want to spoil the story so I won’t.
    6. Even the love-triangle was obvious, but still kind of okay.
  9. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
    Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1)

    1. Another lovable cliche.
    2. I don’t completely remember the ending but it took a weird fucking turn.
    3. I only have the second book RIP.

 

That is all for me going down memory lane of 2010 and I must admit I’m a little proud. I’ve read more 2010 books than I thought.

 

What were your favorite books of 2010? Let me know in the comments and tune in next week for 2011!

One thought on “Through The Years: Top 2010 Novels

  1. I love this post! I agree with TID – definitely one of my favourites, Will and Jem have the most beautiful friendship and the love triangle is probably one of the best I have seen.

    The Hush, Hush series is a funny one. I really liked these books just for what they were, but they whole plot and relationship were pretty off. And I still don’t know why Patch always managed to disappear when anything big happened. It was kind of like the author wanted Nora to be independent and didn’t know what to do with Patch while this was happening.

    I am still trying to get up to date with books…there are just way too many so I don’t know if it will every happen, however these days I am more aware of new releases than what I used to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

