Book Reviewing: The Horror

Hello, Friends and welcome to the Bloggle Friends!

Usually, a book review goes up today and I have EPIC plans to review The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli but then I ran into the little problem. First of all, I lacked the words to describe HOW MUCH I loved it. Secondly, I’m pretty slow in my reading right now because school is beginning to pile up and I really would prefer to be at least half way through a book before I post the review.

So, instead of the book review, I’ll be talking about reviewing the books I read. For some, it may be a simple task. I, personally, go through the following:

  1. Screaming
  2. Crying
    1. (regardless if it was a sad book or not)
  3. Watching all my hair fall out from stress.
  4. Flipping back through the book.
  5. Actually writing it
  6. Scheduling it
  7. Mulling over how stupid it is
  8. Thinking about how horrified I’d be if the author or publishers saw it.

Yes, I carry a lot of stress on my book reviews.

My motivation to review is just a love of reviewing. A few times I’ve tried to figure out if there is some hidden and unpure motive behind my blog. I’ve considered the following:

  1. Fame/popularity
  2. A need for ARCs
  3. A longing to belong in a community
  4. Hoping on the bandwagon

In the end, my reason for reviewing always comes down to a love for talking about the book. There’s also this warm feeling I get in my chest when I think about being able to put my opinion of a book out there.

Nevertheless, there is obviously the struggle that continues.

The problem is, I have no idea how to coherently type how I feel about a book. Love it or hate it doesn’t change that there is a storm of words and emotions I feel after reading that I cope with for a few weeks after reading.

After a week, I’m usually good to go and I can spit out a half decent review that I’m not too nervous about.

Unless the book was five stars to me, like Nevernight, A Court of Mist and Fury, and Crooked Kingdom. It took me weeks to think about those books in any coherent way. Before then I was a freaking mess, reduced to stupid smiles and uncontrollable sobbing.

The same can be said for books I hated but in that case my problem is unchecked rage and disappointment.

Low ratings are the worst.

That is the horror of book reviewing for me in a nutshell.

  • It stresses me out but I adore doing it so I keep doing it.
  • I can never get the words out after reading, the response is either “love, love, love” or “hate, hate, hate,” or “DIE” which can be good or bad.
  • It literally takes forever.

What are some of your reviewing horrors? Do you all have any that you would like to share? Comment below and check back next week for either a review of The Upside of Unrequited or me taking about College Applications.

 

 

Leave a Reply

