Through the Years: Top 2012 Novels

For those of you who don’t know, I’m reminiscing on books from these years that I read or was interested in.

Time for 2012, the year we were all supposed to die but I guess we couldn’t have that one thing, so whatever, book time.

2012 was a great year for books (in my opinion) so let’s get to it!


  1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
    The Fault in Our Stars

    1. Yes, I loved this book. I cried like a baby when I finished it. I could not finish it because my tears were too thick and plentiful, I could not see through them.
    2. DON’T JUDGE 2012 CAT PLEASE.
    3. Lying, judge that little goth-wannabe shit.
  2. Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
    Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)

    1. Not a fan of this cover but too lazy to pull up the other one.
    2. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book but it was good. Very interesting, the world was unique and the characters were cool. At least the side characters, I don’t remember how I felt about the main characters.
    3. I feel like there was a lot of second-hand embarrassment that came with it?
  3. Throne of Glass by SJM
    Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

    1. Using the cover that looks like it has a teen SJM on it.
    2. So I actually kind of like these books. I was very fond of books 2, 3, and 4, 1 and 5 are kind of iffy for me.
    3. I wasn’t really sure if I liked Throne of Glass but I kind of like the way it’s been moving along.
    4. Funny story, back when I read books 1-3 and was in SJM’s YALLFest line I didn’t think she was popular. Whoops.
    5. Anyways, moving on…
  4. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows
    Incarnate (Newsoul, #1)

    1. So I haven’t actually read this yet but I love to take every chance I get to pimp off Jodi’s books.
    2. I started it and it seems kind of cute.
  5. Unwholly by Neal Shusterman
    UnWholly (Unwind, #2)

    1. Apparently, Unwind came out in 2007 which is why it hasn’t been on any previous list.
    2. If you want some weird, fucked up books these are the ones for you.
    3. This is legit terrifying, to this day I’m shaken to the core thinking about how fucking brutal those books were.
  6. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
    The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)

    1. I think I was wary of this book because I read Shiver before it and wasn’t a fan?
    2. It also took me a year to finish this, not because I didn’t like it but because it was just easy to put it down and pick it up again? Like I didn’t forget what was happening, I could read other books in between and pick this one up and still remember what I read before.
    3. Glad I eventually finished it though.
    4. I don’t remember what I thought it was going to be like when I picked this one up but I was not disappointed.
  7. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
    Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)

    1. It’s not a secret that I didn’t love the Grisha Trilogy.
    2. My favorite boo is Siege and Storm, that one introduced all of my favorite characters.
    3. Obviously, I liked this book enough to keep going and I’m not going to lie, Leigh has excellent world building and really unique premises.
  8. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
    The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)

    1. This is another weird, heart wrenching one.
    2. I remember being thoroughly disturbed and scared by this story.
    3. The sequels absolutely broke me.
    4. LOVE THIS BOOK.
  9. Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard
    Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1)

    1. So it’s well known that I love Susan Dennard’s work and I think it’s also well known that Something Strange and Deadly didn’t quite take off like the rest of these books, but it just as good in my opinion.
    2. Steampunk, historical, magical, the undead, the afterlife, these books were wild.
  10. Partials by Dan Wells
    Partials (Partials Sequence, #1)

    1. I read this and wasn’t quite impressed with it but my family LOVES it. Scifi and dystopian.
  11. The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
    The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2)

    1. I devoured this book after waiting so long for it and it was even more emotionally distressing than the first.
    2. I still cry at night thinking about it.
    3. And thinking about the state of my country, but that’s a story for another time.
  12. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
    Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

    1. I am part of the minority that liked allllll of these books. This one was good, I don’t remember much about it, but it was my favorite cover.
  13. A Million Suns by Beth Revis
    A Million Suns (Across the Universe, #2)

    1. This one was fucking wild.
    2. This was one of those trilogies where every book counts. This was the sequel to Across the Universe and holy shit it was AMAZING! So intense!
    3. Highly recommend!

 

Okay, so overall, 2012 was a great year for books and they produced a lot of books that we still love and cherish today.

So, what are some of your favorite books from 2012? Let me know in the comments and come back next Wednesday for 2013 books!

 

One thought on “Through the Years: Top 2012 Novels

  1. Awesome post! Even thought I read most of these after 2012 this post is making me nostalgic. I remember in 2012 when I’d finish all the books on my TBR and had to actually search for new things to read – now my TBR is overflowing. I didn’t realize how popular SJM was until I joined book twitter and saw how crazy people were for Heir of Fire.

    Like

Leave a Reply

