Through the Years: Top 2014 Books

2014 was a great year. Just in general for me. I think I actually did a fair number of reading, just not books from 2014.

2014 was the year I went to that epic YALLFest with Laini Taylor, Sarah J. Maas, Michelle Hodkin… The lineup that year was amazing! And then I got my twitter and in March I got my blog so that was pretty significant.

So, let us review books from that epic year!


  1. The Young Elites by Marie Lu
    The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1)

    1. Dark as fuck.
    2. I love it.
    3. Marie Lu’s writing is AMAZING!
    4. Midnight Star is out now! Last one!
    5. I still need to read the Rose Society YIKES!
  2. To All The Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han
    To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #1)

    1. I’m not much for fluff contemp and I haven’t read this…
    2. However, it looks amazing and I kind of want to?
    3. Also, Asian MC right? LOVE!
    4. Also, I’m in need of a little fluff in my life, so why not?
  3. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
    The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1)

    1. I prefer these covers to the old ones.
    2. I hear this book is amazing with an awesome MC who uses her brain instead of a blade.
    3. I love blood and guts as much as the next person (especially when women are spilling them) but I’m curious to see how this goes.
  4. Alienated by Melissa Landers
    Alienated (Alienated, #1)

    1. This sounds eerily similar to the plot of a TV show I found on Netflix.
    2. Girl wants her blog following to sky rocket, lol, me too friend.
    3. This sounds like scifi but with the cute romance fluff of contemporary and I’m kind of like “sign me up”?
    4. What is going on with me, send help…
  5. Talon by Julie Kagawa
    Talon (Talon, #1)

    1. Teen dragons infiltrate high school.
    2. Guy needs to hunt teen dragons.
    3. Female teen dragon is confusing, “is she a dragon”? who the fuck knows.
    4. This is how I imagine the book going, I’m also imagining that I am very wrong but ok.
  6. SNOW LIKE ASHES by SARA RAASCH
    Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes, #1)

    1. Epic, fun, weird ass world building!
    2. Fun heroine!
    3. Cute story!
    4. But also will make you cry!
    5. And hate yourself!
    6. BUT in a good way!
  7. Red Rising by Pierce Brown
    Red Rising (Red Rising, #1)

    1. This sounds eerily similar to about 5 other sci-fi books mom has described to me.
    2. I thought this was an adult book?
    3. PhantomRin did some amazing fanart on it so I’m still going to read it.
    4. Also, I’m in love with sci-fi, let’s go.
  8. Half Bad by Sally Green
    Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy, #1)

    1. This has mixed reviews but sounds good.
    2. Isn’t it formatted weirdly?
    3. Witches.
    4. I feel bad for this kid.
    5. I feel like this kid may need a hug.
  9. Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
    The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles, #1)

    1. Girl is fed up with life says “fuck this” and steals shit on her way out.
    2. Now she is being hunted?
    3. This is why we can’t have nice things.
    4. Assuming there is lots of lying and kissing.
    5. I’m okay with both, as long as the kisses are hot and the lying is mind blowing.
  10. Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
    Sea of Shadows (Age of Legends, #1)

    1. I actually read this.
    2. I forgot to reread the synopsis before I closed out of the tab.
    3. Has sisterly shit going on.
    4. Weird as fuck.
    5. Betrayal.
    6. Weird, wooded prison?
    7. I need to read the sequel…
  11. Compulsion by Martina Boone
    Compulsion (The Heirs of Watson Island, #1)

    1. I have this book, it is signed, Martina is literally everywhere in VA, we are Virginians, it’s great.
    2. This book sounds weird, scary, and interesting.
  12. Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee
    Gates of Thread and Stone (Gates of Thread and Stone #1)

    1. I’ve already adopted the MC as my daughter, she seems like a sweet nugget who just needs to be loved.
    2. time manipulation
    3. Two boys who sound like they won’t be annoying.
    4. Revolution?

That’s all for now folks!

What books of 2014 did you love? Let me know in the comments and I’ll be back this next week with 2015!

3 thoughts on “Through the Years: Top 2014 Books

Leave a Reply

