Review: A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2)

Title: A Gathering of Shadows

Author: Victoria Schwab/ V. E. Schawb

Format: First Addition US Hardback

Pages: 509

Release Date: 23rd of Feburary, 2016

Publisher: Tor Books

Stance: Sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic

Status: Completed

Rating: 4 Stars

Amazon Book Depository Barnes and NoblesBooks A Million

Synposis from GoodReads:

“It has been four months since a mysterious obsidian stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Prince Rhy was wounded, and since the nefarious Dane twins of White London fell, and four months since the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift–back into Black London.

Now, restless after having given up his smuggling habit, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks as she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Games–an extravagant international competition of magic meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countries–a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

And while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night will reappear in the morning. But the balance of magic is ever perilous, and for one city to flourish, another London must fall.”

WOW it feels like it’s been forever since I’ve written a review! Of course, it usually feels like that.

A Gathering of Shadows was my first book of 2017, though I bought it last year when I went to see Victoria Schwab on her tour!

At that time, I had read A Darker Shade of Magic, close to the release of A Gathering of Shadows, though I wasn’t that impressed by it. Don’t get me wrong, I liked it, it is a great read, but it didn’t captivate me.

I don’t trust my old reviews, so essentially, I loved the characters and the premise of it, I just wasn’t all that into the rest of it.

But for whatever reason, A Gathering of Shadows had me hooked to the point where I read it every spare moment I got, which is rare. As much as I love reading, I don’t often pick up the book when I actually have time.

I had A Gathering of Shadows finished in a few days (pretty good for me) and then I had to wait for a while for the dust to settle because that book BLEW me away.

I literally love Kell, Lila, and Rhy. They’re so fun and unique, each bringing their own thing to the story. They stick to their character, going along with the changes as what occurred in A Darker Shade of Magic and what happens in this one.

Lila, ever the risk taker, ever the leaner. Kell, the only angsty character I think I’ll ever be able to love, and I will protect him at all costs. Rhy, my sweet, suffering son, who just wants to be a good leader and brother/fried.

Plus, the added bonus of Alucard. I still don’t know how to describe him but he is amazing, trust me.

The story centers around the Elemental Games, which the three empires of Red London world compete in. All of the characters are involved in this game and while every now and then we get glimpses of something bigger to come, the Elemental Games takes up the majority of the story.

This makes the plot move along slower but I seriously enjoyed this more than I enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic. It allowed for a lot of character development and time for us to get to know these characters better.

There is fun banter and skeems, just making it all around more enjoyable.

Then there’s a plot twist at the end that made me want to fucking die. Honestly, I’m glad I waited so long to read A Gathering of Shadows for that reason. Now, A Conjuring of Light comes out a few days (or weeks) and then I’ll get to finish it, both YAY and BOO!

I truly did not expect to enjoy this book as much as I did and I would totally suggest reading it.

Fun and adventurous, it’s a book that will stay with you for a long time, I say, still thinking about it.


I apologize again for taking so long to write the review. This weekend I’m at ALAMW, so it’s honestly better this way, it will give me more time to write the review of When The Moon Was Ours.

Also, this coming week, I have midterms, which means my focus is on those and making sure I don’t hardcore fail any of my classes (like math).

Lastly, waiting this long means I have more time to read more books and write more reviews, so I can keep up with my GoodReads challenge along with getting more reading done.

2 thoughts on “Review: A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

