Discussion: Switching Up Genres

0001-42(1)

Generally, it feels like people have that one genre they stick to and I feel that. I basically always read fantasy, both high and urban. They’re fun, I like them, even if they start to feel like the same thing over and over again after a while.

But then again, reading the same thing over and over again can become a serious bore and then I just want to punch myself in the face.

That feeling leads me to changing the genre.

I’ve started doing this more and more often, maybe it’s because I spent YEARS reading nothing but fantasy with a little mix of paranormal which can also sometimes read as urban fantasy to me.

And, like I said, too many of the same genre and even subgenre can start to feel like all the books are the same, no matter how many new and different aspects are pulled into them.

Personally, when I switch up genres, I’ll usually go to contemporary just because that’s the most opposite of what I read. Especially fluffy contemporary books, I’ve found myself looking forward too. I really liked The Upside of Unrequited, and am very excited to read Simon V., To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, and When Dimple Met Rishi.

Also, the really hard-hitting books, like The Hate U Give, Symptoms of Being Human, and History Is All You Left Me.

Some other genres I think would be fun to try out are thriller, horror, historical, and magic realism.

I remember reading The Girl Who Fell, which was hard but also thriller-ish, and When The Moon Was Ours which was Magic Realism and they were both wonderful.

On top of switching genres, I’ve also left fiction and YA a bit, in place of nonfiction and some classics, just to keep me on my toes.

Do You ever switch up genres? What are some of your favorites and least favorites? 

Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

