Review: How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

How to Make a Wish

Title:How To Make A Wish

Author:Ashley Herring Blake

Format:Physical ARC from ALAMW17

Pages:324

Publisher:HMH Books for Young Readers

Stance:Stand alone(?)

Status:Finished

Rating:4 Stars

AmazonBarnes and NoblesBooks A MillionBook Depository

Synposis by GR:

“All seventeen year-old Grace Glasser wants is her own life. A normal life in which she sleeps in the same bed for longer than three months and doesn’t have to scrounge for spare change to make sure the electric bill is paid. Emotionally trapped by her unreliable mother, Maggie, and the tiny cape on which she lives, she focuses on her best friend, her upcoming audition for a top music school in New York, and surviving Maggie’s latest boyfriend—who happens to be Grace’s own ex-boyfriend’s father.

Her attempts to lay low until she graduates are disrupted when she meets Eva, a girl with her own share of ghosts she’s trying to outrun. Grief-stricken and lonely, Eva pulls Grace into midnight adventures and feelings Grace never planned on. When Eva tells Grace she likes girls, both of their worlds open up. But, united by loss, Eva also shares a connection with Maggie. As Grace’s mother spirals downward, both girls must figure out how to love and how to move on”

Disclaimer: I’m not bisexual nor do I have family issues like the ones presented in the books, therefore I cannot speak for the accuracy of either of those things. 

For me, this book was both joyful and stressful. I’ve never actually read anything like it and for that I’m glad.

Slowly, contemporary by contemporary I think I might be starting to get a thing for contemporary, although that might just be because they have a tendency to be more diverse than Sci-Fi or Fantasy.

 (this has proven an oddly hard review to write?)

To be honest, this book is amazing.

First of all, it takes place on a beach in New Egland, though I don’t exactly know where or if it ever said where it was. This is pretty appealing because New England, Nothern East Coast beaches are actually amazing.

I also say this because the book features lighthouses and I love lighthouses. I think mom passed that down to me. They’re amazing and beautiful. If you ever see one in real life it’s kind of magical. 

Which, I mean, the presence of a lighthouse in this book certainly adds a certain kind of magic that’s hard to come by. A sense of impossible becoming possible and content happiness. I really enjoyed that.

Of course, the characters also added to the magic. There was a nice cast of character, all bringing something to the books. It’s one of my favorite things to see all the characters in the story contributing to the actual story. None of the were just randomly placed they all have a place in the story.

All of them manage to have completely different and unique personalities which complement and conflict with the others.

Also, I’d like to talk about the romance because the romance is one of the best things ever and I feel like I could potentially write an essay on the romance.

It’s adorable. A cute little f/f romance going on and I cried. They’re so cute and sweet and they have so much fun together.

I genuinely can’t put into words the actual masterpiece that was this book, as you may have been able to tell.

It’s beautifully written and filled with human conflicts, conflicts that go down to the very core, the psyche of humans. 

It’s full of struggle and beauty, with loyalty through thick and thin, finding the light in the darkness. 

The relationships aren’t perfect but they aren’t toxic either which is nice to see. The characters have this beautiful mutual existence and understanding that they work with and through to further and strengthen their own relationships and characters.

Honestly, the biggest problem I had was with the mom and I know that was supposed to be a source of conflict so great job on the author’s part. I spent a good portion of the time being frustrated that Grace had to put up with such a woman, that that was how most of her life was spent.

Other than the mom being the most yikes characters I’ve ever read (that was meant to be written that way) I adored this books.

Like I said, it is fun, it is magical, it is full of cute romance that you can root for. It’s great at making your heart ache, great at making you cry, and then great at making you smile through the tears because not everything is awful in the end.

The best part about this is that it will be out soon! WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT?!

I’m very excited for more people to read this book and I can’t wait to hear what you all think of it!

Check back soon for more blog post and hopefully relatable content!

3 thoughts on “Review: How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

Leave a Reply

