Review: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Girl Out of Water

Title:Girl Out of Water

Author:Laura Silverman

Format:Physical ARC from ALAMW17

Pages:352

Publisher:Sourcebooks Fire

Stance:Standalone (?)

Stance:Finished

Rating:Four Stars

AmazonBarnes and NoblesBooks A MillionBook Depository

Synposis from Goodreads:

“Anise Sawyer plans to spend every minute of summer with her friends: surfing, chowing down on fish tacos drizzled with wasabi balsamic vinegar, and throwing bonfires that blaze until dawn. But when a serious car wreck leaves her aunt, a single mother of three, with two broken legs, it forces Anise to say goodbye for the first time to Santa Cruz, the waves, her friends, and even a kindling romance, and fly with her dad to Nebraska for the entire summer. Living in Nebraska isn’t easy. Anise spends her days caring for her three younger cousins in the childhood home of her runaway mom, a wild figure who’s been flickering in and out of her life since birth, appearing for weeks at a time and then disappearing again for months, or even years, without a word.

Complicating matters is Lincoln, a one-armed, charismatic skater who pushes Anise to trade her surfboard for a skateboard. As Anise draws closer to Lincoln and takes on the full burden and joy of her cousins, she loses touch with her friends back home – leading her to one terrifying question: will she turn out just like her mom and spend her life leaving behind the ones she loves.”

Guys…. Guys…. I just…

Okay, so I was interested in this book like that’s why I wanted to get it at ALA but I was so wary at the same time because… Sports.

I mean the cover is beautiful and Laura is a gem in a pile of coal and I heard there was disability rep which I’m always looking for but at the same time… Sports…

I’m not much of a sports person, I’ve always loved gymnastics and I just got into football for mom but otherwise… No.

So, when I was going in to read a book about surfing and skating I was kind of like… Hmm. Maybe? This has potential.

BUT THEN IT FUCKING BLEW MY BRAIN OUT I MEAN HOLY SHIT I AM IN LOVE!

Fuck everything I previously thought about sports this was cooler than beans this book is the bomb diggity, it is the bee’s knees. I was completely blown away.

The book is so fun and the sports just make it even better. Seriously, I was in love with surfing and skating by the time this book was over.

Especially the skating provided a fun challenge for the main characters, it gave her something to focus on and have fun with.

It was so interesting to see how the sports just brought out the life in characters. These characters have a passion I feel like I rarely see in characters.

This is the kind of passion that I’ve seen my peers have over sports but in this setting where it wasn’t for school or a team was amazing.

Plus Silverman does an amazing job of getting the reader to feel the love and excitement and joy of these characters doing what they love. She managed to portray love and grief and anger so well within these characters.

Really, I am so devoted to Anise and Lincoln they are the cutest couple ever and if I ever had to pick a book boyfriend, it would have to be Lincoln! He is such a fun and dynamic character and if he were real I ten out of ten would want to friend him in real life.

He presents a challenge for Anise but is also a friend and a support system and I know he’s the love interest but he’s also a perfect example of being a friend while being a love interest. That’s got to be one of my favorite things ever when the LI is also the friend and THIS BOOK did it SO WELL, I swear to god I cry.

Plus, Anise is a great narrator. I don’t really know what to say other than she is. It’s first person so she isn’t necessarily reliable but following her around being in her head is such an adventure, one I loved going through.

Plus the change in location, from Santa Cruz to Nebraska is actually amazing. I’m not actually a person for the beach and the ocean, I love it, I respect it, I probably wouldn’t want to live by it but it is awesome.

But this book makes Nebraska seem amazing. I mean there are a number of adventures that they go on while Anise is there and it is such a wild ride like sign me up for Nebraska, I want to adventure there now!

Also, I’d like to say, this book has me questioning athletes because the characters in this book could probably eat and entire cow without blinking and is that legit? Because that’s amazing, I can barely eat a sandwich without getting nauseous.

Anyways, that was random but a serious question I have throughout this book.

This wonderful book that had so much stuff going on with family and loyalty and responsibility to family while still trying to keep oneself happy and it was so brilliantly done.

Trying to balance family life and friendships, trying to handle long distance friendships, fear for friendships which I feel SO STRONGLY ALL THE TIME, and all of it was handled so beautiful, I am truly in awe.

My overall feelings are: please check out the book, read it, come to me, FANGIRL WITH ME, it’ll be great.

Check back soon for more posts and hopefully relatable content. For now, go buy this book!

Leave a Reply

