Review: Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Title:Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Author:Becky Albertalli

Format:Paperback

Pages:320

Stance:Stand alone

Status:Finished

Rating:4 Stars

AmazonBarnes and Nobles Books A Million – Book Depository 

Synposis from GoodReads:

“Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.”

Disclaimer: I cannot speak for the accuracy of the representation in this book.

I don’t even know why I still worry about hype but with this book, I went in worried as hell.

And I came out in adoration of this book.

Sure, for me, at times I wasn’t as interested as I could’ve been and it didn’t match up to all of the hype but did match up to most of it.

Otherwise, this book proved to be a fun and exciting read. It was easy to just sit down, whip out the book and keep reading because I never lost interest in it. There was always something going on that I wanted to keep reading out.

Since it is a YA contemp it is set in a high school in the South which I really enjoyed because it reminded me a lot of my own high school. It was very easy for me to me visual the set up of the school as well as the classes and how the students were acting.

It wasn’t one of the books where it read as though the author had never been in a high school in their life which is how some of those YA contemps read.

The setting was brought to life really well by the characters though. It was clear they were in high school and they acted the way I would expect high schoolers to act, they thought the way I could see them thinking, it was brilliant.

All of them were funny and relatable. They kept the story alive and moving. There wasn’t a character in there that I thought the story could have lived without which was amazing.

Since the story is in first person the only character we get to see in actuality is Simon but honestly, that was awesome. I mean he’s hilarious for one thing and, oh yeah, he’s written like an actual person not like some adult’s whiny incarnation of a teen.

He makes has fun and true friendships, he’s involved in school, he’s got a great family, to be honest, he’s actually pretty average and I think that’s part of what makes him amazing. There isn’t anything too perfect about him, he makes mistakes, when he realizes this he will at least acknowledge a mistake was made.

The actual story was also great. We know right away from the synopsis (if you are a person who reads those, I am not) that he’s being blackmailed and someone is threatening to out him. But that’s not all. There’s a whole bunch of other little things that are scattered throughout the story so we aren’t just being met with one plotline. It isn’t just Simon being blackmailed, it’s problems in his friend group, dealing with school, and Blue (on the other end of being blackmailed), his family, the play, and so on.

Although I must say, the blackmail thing was pretty interesting and tough. Stories that have or threaten to have forced outing narrative always kind of put me on end. I’m not a hundred percent sure why that is but they make me both angry and uneasy.

But, you know, it is what it is.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I am so glad I picked it up instead of choosing to read something else. It was so relaxing and calming to read such a marvelously fun book.

If you’re thinking about it: go for it.

A. M. A. Z. I. N. G.!!!

Hope you enjoyed this review and check back soon for more posts!

-Kit Cat

One thought on “Review: Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Leave a Reply

