Benefit of Old Blog Posts

Discussion Post

Hey, how are you guys?

Me? I’m pretty dead but that’s okay. I’ve finished Nyxia, AKA best book of 2017 and started They Both Die At The End, which is okay. I continue to wonder about my life aimlessly and praying that at some point I’ll find direction.

Fun times, whenever I write a review, I link it to my review index because, you know, availability is important. Going along with that it also means I have to see my old reviews. Which I hate.

And I’ve been revisiting some old discussion posts to help make ideas for new discussion posts which… I know, I’m boring but I have new Opinions (TM) and I want to link the old blog posts but that means… I have to look at them.

Generally, when seeing my old blogs posts I think “Burn it with fire, delete it into oblivion DESTROY IT!”

But then I remember that’s a bad idea. There are a few pretty significant benefits to my old posts.

For example, they keep me humble. 

I feel like I’ve come a long way since I started blogging and sometimes my own ego will really cloud my brain. Seeing old blog posts, as painful as it is, reminds me that there was a time when I was really shitty at this instead of kind of shitty.  And I think it’s really important to remember that.

On the other end of the spectrum, they give me hope.

Some days, I have a really big head and think “I’m an amazing blogger!” and other days I look at my pitiful stats and go “why do I even bother?”

There are times when my blog’s stats have skyrocketed and I’ve gotten a bunch of new followers and my views went higher than ever and then… Everything goes back to its pitifully low ratings.

(Sidenote, I know this seems like an exaggeration but my stats are shit, I promise one day I’ll show them to you all). 

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my blog and I know I shouldn’t base it or my worth on stats but sometimes I do.

And it’s in those times that I force myself to stare at my old blog posts (metaphorically, usually) and remember that’s I’ve grown a little bit and I will continue growing. Even if that growth is small and seemingly insignificant, it’s occurring and I should be grateful for that. At least it’s something.

Another reason, which I think is more applicable to, like, famous and good bloggers than me, is it helps newbies.

Every year it seems like there’s an influx in new bloggers and as someone who remembers her beginning pretty well, I can say that it helps to have very old blog posts.

When joining, a lot of times things can get messy. You don’t know how you want your blog to look or your style or how to navigate… Anything… And sometimes, if you’re like me, the bloggers you follow are just the most well known so you’re trying to model after them while being very much not them, which can suck… A lot. When I started blogging there wasn’t really anyone 1) my age, which I lament on a lot and 2) starting out with me. So, it was just kind of me with all these people who’d been blogging for a year or longer.

And in those cases, it’s nice to see the growth of other bloggers as a reminder that these things come with time. It’s important to give yourself time to figure your blogger self out and find what works for you.

I definitely endorse looking at other blogs and bloggers to help find your footing, by the way. See what they post a lot of or if there are any features, things like that.

But having all the old stuff up is a good reminder, not just to the blogger, but to others that growth can and will happen, it happens to everyone.

Unless you buy your followers.

So, even if you really want to burn all of your old blog posts and hide that they ever existed, don’t. They serve a purpose to you and to others.

I still remember wanting to destroy all my old blog posts in case Important People saw them but then I realized that if Important People saw them it’d probably be hard to believe I had my following and stats with just a few months worth of posts that were okay at best.

Which may be plausible for some but not most.

Blogging has a rough period it. It requires a rough period. Let it happen and don’t forget it did.

Plus, a while ago I did go through and delete some posts (only a few) but one of them got me A LOT of views and now I have no idea what it was because I deleted it. Way to go me, it was probably a melt down or something.

No deleting old post.

Kidding, it’s up to you, but I’d seriously advise against it.

That’s all for now, check back later for more content, comment your thoughts below, and thank you for reading!

Signature

2 thoughts on “Benefit of Old Blog Posts

  1. I’ve felt the same way! Sometimes I look back at my old posts and think why did I even write that? I think we’ve still got a lot to learn and sooner or later we’ll find our way too. The truth is no one in this world has EVERYTHING figured out. We just have to work with what we have and hope for the best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

